Ocean Rose Inn

113 Ocean Road

Narragansett, RI 02882

Telephone (401) 783-4704

49551 l

About This Employer

32 Room Hotel


Managed by:

TPG Hospitality

Employer Profile

32 Room Hotel profile
About the Ocean Rose Inn

Ideally located on Ocean Road in Narragansett, the Ocean Rose Inn offers its guests breathtaking ocean views. Seconds away from your luxurious guest room are countless opportunities for fun - including biking, beachcombing, deep-sea fishing and antique collecting. Sail picturesque harbors and endless coastlines, shop one-of-a-kind boutiques, lounge on Narragansett Beach or golf on some of New England's most scenic courses. The Ocean Rose Inn's ideal setting is surpassed only by the storybook history of the Narragansett and the Narragansett Casino, home to the rich and famous in the early 1900's.

Dramatic coastal views are abundant in Narragansett. The long rockbound stretch of shoreline between Scarborough Beach and the town beach is shelved with a rugged expanse of pink granite. Anywhere along here - but especially at Hazard Rock or Black Point - are dramatic views of rugged rocky shoreline and sprawling waterfront estates. At low tide, depressions in the bedrock become tide pools and invite legions of young explorers. Here, too, are fishermen, casting off the rocks for anything they can catch.

Narragansett is the Indian word for "little spit of land." Its center, Narragansett Pier, had its heyday during the Victorian era. People from all over the east coast flocked to the posh resort by steamship and train, lured by the beautiful beaches, ocean breeze and Narragansett Casino Resort. The famous oceanfront casino was designed by the architectural firm of McKim, Mead and White. Sadly, the casino was destroyed by fire in 1900, and now the Towers are all that remain of the elegant resort. They house a photography exhibit of Narragansett's Victorian era, as well as a Chamber of Commerce/Visitors' Center. The old oceanfront lifesaving station (adjacent to the Towers), later a Coast Guard stations, is now a fine restaurant aptly named the Coast Guard House.

If you love seafood, fishing or birding, the Port of Galilee - the 2nd largest fishing port in New England - is the place to explore. Galilee is home to shops, beaches, charter fishing, a fleet of commercial fishing and lobster boats, and of course, fresh seafood restaurants. Experience a whale watch or a leisurely tour of the Harbor and Great Salt Pond. Galilee is also the place to hop the ferry to Block Island.

Narragansett's Point Judith Lighthouse has been warning ships off the rocky coast since the early 1800's. The present lighthouse dates to 1857,having been rebuilt twice. Visitors are welcome to tour the grounds and enjoy the panoramic view, though the lighthouse is closed to the public.

Narragansett's town center contains lovely shops and fine restaurants serving everything from fresh seafood to gourmet French, Italian, Spanish and Chinese cuisine. The town green, bordered by the Towers, is used for concerts, festivals, art shows and ice skating in the winter.


The gracious Ocean Rose Inn lies at land's end, overlooking the Newport Harbor, Narragansett Bay and Jamestown Island. Framed by historic homes of the 19th century whaling captains and stately elm trees, the location on Ocean Road is an example of the enduring heritage of Narragansett. A landmark since 1903, the hotel's sprawling verandas are lined with rocking chairs that invite guests to behold sweeping views of the bay and yachts of Newport Harbor.

The Inn consists of three buildings. The main ocean front building has nine Victorian style rooms on the second and third floors with private baths, TV, air-conditioning, some rooms have fireplaces and private decks with unobstructed views of the Atlantic Ocean. The restaurant, with panoramic views of the ocean, is located on the first floor and serves seafood and Italian cuisine. The ceiling in the back dining room of the restaurant is the original ceiling with 18 karat gold overlays. The wood paneling in the room is of zebra oak. In season the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, and also caters to weddings, private parties and functions.

Hotel History

Built in 1901, the front building served as the private residence of R. James Sullivan and came to be known as the "Youghal Cottage". Nine bedrooms and a small chapel were located on the second and third floors. The second floor was used by the owners and the third for the maids and butlers. In the early twenties it became a speak-easy where the vacationing elite would party til the early morning hours. Secret passage-ways are located in the basement and under the staircase to the second floor. The bedrooms on the second floor were transformed into small gambling rooms where roulette, black jack and craps were the late night entertainment.

As the years went by, the property went by several names such as "Narragansett Social Club", "Neptune Motor Inn" and most recently "Pier House Inn".

Major renovations have taken place since then; an addition of an ocean front courtyard cafe, a larger restaurant and better quality accommodations.

The Ocean Rose Inn is one of the last original ocean front Victorian inns in southern Rhode Island.

Narragansett History

Welcome - At the beginning of this century, Narragansett rivaled Newport as a favorite vacation spot of the wealthy.
Fashionable periodicals commented regularly on the social goings-on at "The Pier" (Narragansett).

One of the finest beaches in the Northeast lured the Aristocrats then, and vacationers today, who still return every summer.
The simple charm and lack of pretension distinguishes Narragansett from affluent resorts. 

The sun shimmers on the waves at Narragansett Pier and there's a salty tang in the breeze. A walk along the seawall hugging
Ocean Road allows unlimited view of sea and crashing surf. Brisk offshore winds furl sails, and fishing boats head into nearby
ports with their catches.

Come, experience for yourself the many "pleasures and treasures" of Narragansett.

Narragansett was incorporated as a town in 1901. Prior to that time, it was part of South Kingstown,with local history dating back to 1675 when Roland Robinson settled in South County and purchased land from the Narragansett Indians in Pettaquamscutt and Pt. Judith Shipbuilding was an early industry with sailing vessels built on the Narrow River at Middlebridge. South Ferry, or Franklin Ferry, was a thriving community, offering ferry service to Jamestown and Newport for more than a hundred years in the early 1700's. South Ferry Church was a landmark on every sea captain's chart of Naragansett Bay.

Between 1888 and 1920 Naragansett was well-known as an elegant summer resort with a dozen more grand hotels and many large estates and "cottages". Probably the most prominent landmark was the Naragansett Casino, covering nearly one square block from Ocean Road to Mathewson Street. The towers on Ocean Road served as the main entrance and covered promenade, and are all that remain after a devestating fire in 1900. Most of the large hotels, all built in wood, were destroyed by fire during the early 1900's.